Oh Dear!: Oi Wasteman

Oh Dear! expresses urban language and communication in his ‘Oi Wasteman‘ sculpture and illustrated prints. I enjoyed viewing this ‘Simpler Times‘ exhibit presented by Guns ‘N’ Butta which made me smile and focus on the harshness of inner city life in London.

The Oi Wasteman clay sculpture reminded me of my early childhood watching ‘The California Raisin Show‘ early on Sunday mornings children’s television in the 90’s. Yes those were the days! This sculpture also took me back to secondary school when my communication style began to change to adapt to the harsh reality of London life.

I appreciated Oh Dear’s illustrated prints. The playful comic-book style contrast with the messages in the images. Part funny, and part obnoxious; I loved and hated the thoughts which travelled through my mind as I viewed Oh Dear’s! work as I reflected on my life and his work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

